In 2020 Prof. Hubert Gasteiger (Chair of Technical Electrochemistry at TU München) received two awards from the Electrochemical Society, the Vittoria de Nora Award and the Battery Division Research Award:

The Vittorio de Nora Award was established in 1971 to recognize distinguished contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology.

The Battery Division Research Award defines the field of interest covered as “that area of electrochemical knowledge which deals with the mechanisms, theory, materials and design of devices (primary and secondary cells and batteries and fuel cells) in which the chemical energy can be converted into usable electrical energy by an electrochemical process.” (Source: