Image: P. Kratochvil

The Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry and the German Chemical Society honored e-conversion coordinator Prof. Thomas Bein with the joint Elhuyar-Goldschmidt Award. The Societies established the prize in 1999 to appreciate the achievements of outstanding chemists from both countries. For this purpose each Society selects up to two scientists from the other country.

The award includes not only a medal and prize money but also a lecture series in the partner country. It is dedicated to three famous chemists: the Spanish brothers Fausto and Juan José Elhuyar who first isolated the element tungsten (wolfram) in 1783 and the German Hans Goldschmidt who developed the thermite reaction in 1894.